In Search of a Name

Recently I’ve been thinking about something very exciting. As you may know, I’m going to be a film director. Not sure what my path will be yet, but I am extremely excited to find out.

I’ve done some video work and photography in the past year (although not as much since I started school, admittedly), and it has come to my attention that I need to make a name for myself. Literally.

Yes, it’s time to come up with a name that I can attach to my work, and something that I can use closely with my own personal brand (which I’m also working on developing).

This is where I need your help, all you creative and idea-filled people out there!

A name can be anything – I just don’t want to have my name as the title – and can use any number of descriptors, such as: pictures, films, media, studios, entertainment, productions, cinema, and more!

I really like “Rising Sun” as a name. There is unfortunately already a Rising Sun Pictures, but I could end it in something else, or come up with something new altogether!

Some current production company names include:

  • Walt Disney Pictures
  • Touchstone Pictures
  • Pixar Animation Studios
  • Sherwood Pictures
  • Advent Film Group
  • 20th Century Fox
  • Warner Bros. Pictures
  • Affirm Films

Please give me any suggestions or comments. Even if it’s just to throw an idea out there, please let me know what you think.

Do you like Rising Sun? Hate it? Have a different idea? Want to comment on someone else’s idea? Let me know!

Sources include http://www.imdb.com and Wikipedia’s list of film production companies.

About Jenna Marie

Jenna is a communications student from Winnipeg, Manitoba. She's almost finished studying at Red River College and looking forward to whatever's coming next.
This entry was posted in School Assignments. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In Search of a Name

  1. Now that you are a Friesen, how about Freeze Frames or something similar? Friezen Solid? maybe enough with the surname puns. Son Sparks Productions? What do you what someone to think or experience when they hear or read your name?

    • I’m not sure what I want them to think. I just know that I don’t want to be confused with another company, if at all possible. I’m now playing around with sunrise and lakeland. I like the first and Lakeland is the city I was born in. I’m thinking Lakeside Films, Sunside Studios, or Lakeland Media or Lakeland Productions.
      Any thoughts on those? I did actually really like Freeze Frames too; sort of considering that semi-seriously (although I’ll have to search it to see if it exists already).

  2. Christian says:

    Similar to Rising Sun, but with more of a prairie connotation: Big Sky Productions !

Share your thoughts!

