No Room for Art?

This week my class was required to hand in a short story, 500-4,000 words. I know, that’s quite the range. But it got done, and I realized something while I was working.

I really love writing. It’s great that I am forced to put together a piece, because it’s really hard to make time for creating art. Maybe I’m the only one, but somehow I don’t think so.

I could blame my lack of dedicated creative time on school, and it would be true. I am very busy, and a lot of that is due to my course load. But who else isn’t spending time doing what they love? Are all of you in school? Before I started studying, I found other ways to occupy my time.

And what about exercise? Most of us say it’s important, and some of us say we’d like to, but how many people actually get around to doing it?

I think balance is an art, and we have to be proactive about getting started. I need to make a plan for my time and stick to it. It’s not easy. But I don’t want to face the alternative: waking up in twenty years, or five year, or even one, and feeling like I wasted my time. I want to be effective and live fully, and at this time next year I definitely don’t want to realize that I’ve been wasting precious time that I won’t be getting back.

School work is important, and I want to give 100% to all my work. But part of that is the balance. I read somewhere that spending time planning how to use your time is one of the best things you can do for yourself.

What do you think about that? How do you manage your life balance? Do you find that you have time to do the things that you really want to do?

What are you going to do about it?

About Jenna Marie

Jenna is a communications student from Winnipeg, Manitoba. She's almost finished studying at Red River College and looking forward to whatever's coming next.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No Room for Art?

  1. Krista says:

    C’s get degrees! But that said, I strive for A’s, which makes it hard to set aside time for anything personal. The fact that we even have to SET ASIDE time for things like exercise and art is so sad! But maybe it’s just a time in our lives where things are overly crazy. Or maybe it will just always seem this way…

Share your thoughts!

