Why goals take the gold over resolutions

When it comes to New Year’s resolutions, I can’t say I’ve ever really made any.

I love planning and goals and generally have at least one thing on the go in the planning portion of my brain, but I don’t make resolutions.

Why not, you ask? I don’t want to make resolutions at the start of a new year, just because that’s when you’re supposed to or that’s when everyone else is making them. Also, I don’t want to put a bunch of things on paper (despite all the computer stuff I have, I still have to love writing by hand) that aren’t going to happen.

I think there is a big difference between goals and resolutions. Perhaps some people say resolution and to them it means what I mean when I say goal. That’s fine.

I consider goals to be measurable and specific, and resolutions to be things that you want to stop or start doing in a more vague way. I googled these two words and came across a blog post that I feel expresses the differences very well. There’s also the acronym SMART (specific, measurable, attainable, realistic, and timely) to help with goal-setting. Check out the article here with more details on SMART goals.

What do you think about resolutions? Are you for or against them? Do you make resolutions or do you set yourself goals?

Independently of the new year, I’ve been thinking about goals and trying to compile a list of goals that I’d like to achieve. After that I want to break them down into steps so I can start!

About Jenna Marie

Jenna is a communications student from Winnipeg, Manitoba. She's almost finished studying at Red River College and looking forward to whatever's coming next.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why goals take the gold over resolutions

  1. Melanie Lee Lockhart says:

    I think if you approach resolutions the same way you approach goals, they should be just as valid – it’s all in the definition. If a resolution is really something you resolve to do, it’s a goal, and you can make it SMART.

    If it’s something you hope happens but you don’t do anything to make it happen, it’s not! :)

  2. Pingback: The journey vs. the destination « Friesen in Winnipeg

Share your thoughts!

